Easy FC Win Maiden Edition Of Isaac Nnaji Football Tourney


The inaugural edition of Isaac Nnaji Football Tournament came to an end in Agodo-Egbe, Ikotun, Lagos State on May 12, with Easy FC emerging champions after defeating Muller FC 4-2 on penalties in the final after battling to 3-3 in regulation time.

Several awards were presented to deserving participants, such as  Most Valuable Player, which went to Ishola Tajudeen and Best Goalkeeper won by Mojeed Oluwadamilare . There were varying prizes for winners, runners-up and third-placed team of the tournament.  Gbade Ezekiel emerged as Best Manager, Isaac Nnaji  won the Best Goal of the Tournament while  Gbenga Olushola bagged the highest goal scorer award with 7 goals.

The teams were divided into four groups. Gbenga Thomas led Group A as Muller F.C  Group B known as Heart FC was led by Dayo, Gbade Ezekiel took charge of Group C, known as Easy FC  while Group D, known as Ajasco was led by Ajasco.

The opening match featured Muller FC and Easy FC, which the former won 2-1. The latter gained their pound of flesh in the final match, which they won on penalties after a stalemated regulation time.

In his closing remark, Roland Aigbovbiosarnament, the organiser of Rulers All-Star, aka Excellent Men FC Agodo-Egbe, Ikotun, Lagos, commended the efforts of participants and expressed gratitude to all present for their love for sports development and humanity, with special mention of Mr Dada Thomas, Mr Dayo Adeniyi, Mr Kazeem Owoduni, Engr. Oluseun Ola, Mr David Sunday, Mr Adewunmi Adeola Peter and Mother of the Day, Mrs Adeola Anidu.

By Godwin Aikigbe