Akwa United Unveil 15 New Signings


Akwa United FC on Saturday unveiled 15 new signings ahead of 2017-2018 Nigeria Professional Football League season starting January 14.

The event, which took place at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo  preceded the highly publicized Sunday’s Thanksgiving service.

The Aiteo Cup champions and CAF Confederation Cup participants published the list on twitter alongside a photograph of the newly recruited players with their manager Abdu Maikaba.


  1. Dennis Nya (Lobi Stars)
  2. Etim Matthew (Rangers)
  3. Adeshina Gata (ABS)
  4. Ajibola Otegbeye (Sunshine Stars)
  5. Victor Mbaoma (Remo Stars)
  6. Kelly Kester (Enyimba)
  7. Yenne Tenton (GBS, Jos)
  8. Gabriel Wassa (Niger Tornadoes)
  9. Kenneth James (Elkanemi)
  10. Aniekeme Asuquo (Akwa Starlets)
  11. Katoh Haggai (GBS Academy, Jos)
  12. Aminu Nuhu (Adamawa United)
  13. Kenneth James (Elkanemi)
  14. Etboy Akpan (NK Rudar, Slovenia)

15 Daniel Ekpo (Rivers United)

  1. Emmanuel Charles (Akwa Starlets)

The team resumed the final phase of our pre-season training on Wednesday January 3rd, aiming to better their fourth-place finish of last season.